Perfect Start

Welcome back, guys since my last post I’ve played through the month of August and completed my first transfer window as Chelsea. So I’ll run you through the games, the results and of course the transfer ins and outs. We’ll also take a look at the monthly awards before taking a final look at the League table.

The Schedule

CFC Schedule Aug (2)

So we played 3 Premier League games this month and 1 game in the 2nd Round of the EFL Cup. We took on Watford, Stoke and Burnley in the Premier League and faced off against Luton in the Cup.

Transfer News

Chelsea transfers (2)

So at the start of the series, I said I wanted to try and minimise the spending of the club and focus more on Chelsea academy as they have some really exciting prospects. I was given a £70 million pound transfer budget, so I decided to look at the squad and add some depth to it and prepare in advance for European Football next season. So as you can see in the graphic above, I bought in 4 players totalling £44 million and I sent 6 players out on loan.

The Outs

I decided that even though Ake, is already ready to compete for a first team place a year out on loan as a key player would be best served for his development. Hertha Berlin came in with an offer to pay all his wages and use him as a key player so to me it was a no-brainer, plus the fact he’d be playing in a top division in the Bundesliga. I’m hoping he’ll have a good season and come back with more experience and be a better all round player.

Next we had Nathaniel Chalobah, a player I really didn’t want to send out on loan originally due to the lack of depth in the central midfield area of the squad. However, Sheffield Wednesday came with an offer to use him as a key player and pay his wages. So as oppose to me using him as a rotation option and potentially stunting his development I sent him out to get more playing time over the season.

Now on to Ruben Loftus-Cheek, he’s a good young player but I felt that he wasn’t good enough for the first team just yet. So I actively made the decision to loan him out and once again Cardiff came in with an offer to use him as a key player, so I accepted the offer.

Next up was Charly Musonda, a bright young prospect but he wasn’t getting anywhere near the first team in my opinion. So again I listed him for loan and in came Swansea City with the promise of first team action in the Premier League. So I sent him off to Wales to gain some experience.

The final player loaned out from the Senior team, was Brazilian youngster, Kenedy. With the attacking talent we already have on the wings, I couldn’t see a realistic chance of Kenedy getting any match time. So same as all the others before him, I listed him for loan and in came German side Frankfurt. With the promise of key player status in the Bundesliga an the offer to cover his wages I would’ve been mad to refuse with the move making sense for all parties involved.

The last player loaned out, was youngster Alex Davey. A young player from the Under-18’s was sent off to Kilmarnock in order to get some game time.

The Ins

So I looked at the squad thoroughly and it’s a great squad, it’s full of phenomenal talent and desire. The first area I looked to strengthen was the centre of midfield, we only have Matic, Kante and Fabregas as well as some youth prospects. I only had one box-to-box midfielder and that is Kante, so I entered the market looking for someone to back him up and I found the perfect replacement. Andrea Poli from AC Milan, the Italian international joined the club in a deal worth £6,750,000.

I also looked at the playmaker side of the midfield and there wasn’t too much depth there either. I only had Fabregas who was capable of playing the role. So I scouted around and it’s pretty much the obvious choice but also I looked at the long term for someone to replace Cesc in years to come and so I stumbled upon Youri Tielemans. The young Belgian playmaker signed for us in a deal worth £17,250,000 from RSC Anderlecht.

Another area where I felt the need to strengthen the team was the defence and first of all I looked at the Wing Back positions. We only had Alonso, Azpilicueta and Ola Aina, with only Alonso able to play on the left side and no permanent back up unless I bring Azpilicueta across. So either way I was short one Wing Back and I went scouting and with the resources I already had I didn’t need a world beater. So I decided on Fabio Coentrao of Real Madrid. The Portuguese international signed from the La Liga side in a deal worth £5,000,000.

Another area I wanted to strengthen, was the Centre Back position. With Cahill and Terry coming to the end of their careers very soon and Kurt Zouma sidelined with a long term injury I needed to bring in reinforcements. I needed to find some young talent. I looked at several players before I decided on Karim Rekik. Rekik joined for £15,000,000 from Olympique de Marseille.

The Results

Chelsea vs Watford

So we kicked off the Premier League season, by welcoming Watford to Stamford Bridge. We started the game on a roll, thanks to a quickfire brace from Pedro putting us 2-0 inside 10 minutes. We took this lead into the break, but Watford came back fighting. A goal from Deeney in the 58th minute made it 2-1 and gave them a chance of a comeback. However much to Watford’s dismay, Cahill rose highest to reinstate our 2 goal lead and make it 3-1. Deeney struck again to make it 3-2 as Watford’s resilience shone through. With the game poised at 3-2 and both sides giving their all the game was set for a grand stand finish. There was some late drama with goals at either end, first up David Luiz struck to give us a 4-2 lead. Then, in the 86th minute, Troy Deeney completed his hat trick to make it 4-3. The lads hung on as we claimed the victory.

From an attacking perspective, we are amazing we bombed forward created the chances and goals. However, I was a bit concerned with the way we defended conceding 3 goals wasn’t fun to watch. As you can see, we didn’t have the majority of the possession but I didn’t set his tactic up to control games. It was meant to attack teams and play fast and direct football, that seemed to have worked with the goals scored but we do need to tighten up at the back.

Chelsea vs Stoke

The Premier League continued as we travelled down to Stoke for a tough away game. It really did prove to be a tough fixture as we really had to scrap for this one. Luiz struck early with a free kick in the 7th minute. Stoke fought back and eventually pulled level when Marko Arnautovic scored to make it 1-1. It was a pretty even game until the very end when substitute Michy Batshuayi popped to steal a late winner and make the score 2-1.

It was a dead even game until the late winner and to be honest I would’ve taken the draw here as Stoke are a good side and tough to beat. I felt like we didn’t deserve the win to be honest and we got away with this one.

Luton vs Chelsea

The EFL Cup rolled into town as we travelled up to Luton. I decided that I would rotate the side for this one and I tried my best to send out a completely changed starting eleven. It was a rather easy game for us and we totally dominated the goal mouth action. Michy Batshuayi started this game and he justified my selection with the opening goal. We continued to dominate the game but couldn’t find a way through until new arrival Youri Tielemans came up with a brace to seal a 3-0 win.

A thoroughly brilliant performance from back to front even if it was a weakened side against lower league opposition. Without Europe, I’m targeting all 3 domestic trophies; the Premier League, EFL Cup and the FA Cup.

Chelsea vs Burnley (2)

For the final game, we faced off against Burnley. We started the game well, attacking from the off. Marauding forward, the pressure finally paid when Cesc Fabregas made it 1-0. Hazard then added our second of the game just 4 minutes later. The domination continued in the second half when the Captain, John Terry stepped up to head home to make it 3-0. Burnley hit back only to grab a consolation goal when James Wilson scored in the 85th minute. Michy Batshuayi continued his good form when scored late to make it 4-1.

A brilliant performance to cap off a perfect month, we’ve played very well scored some great goals and dominated our opponents.

Monthly Awards

CFC MOTM (2)

So after a perfect start to life at Chelsea, and a maximum 9 points from the 9 available I picked up the award for Premier League Manager of the Month.

Luiz POTM

The awards kept on coming. After a brilliant start to the season for the club, and a tremendous return of 2 goals in 3 games and an average rating for 8.23, David Luiz picked up the Premier League Player of the Month.

Pedro GOTMAnother award for the club, this time Goal of the Month. Pedro picked up the award for his second goal against Watford earlier in the month.

The Premier League

League Table Aug

So a final look at the Premier League table before I end this post. As you can see, Leicester have matched our perfect start and we’re only ahead on goal difference at the present moment.

Leave a Reply

