#ChelseaChampions

With Matchday 37 over and done with now, I’m going to take a look and see how my predictions matched up against the actual results.

Everton vs Watford

We kicked off the jam packed week of football at Goodison Park as Everton welcomed Watford. I had predicted a 2-0 win for Everton. However, a resilient Watford ensured that wasn’t the case, Everton won 1-0. So a good start to the week for me, I got the correct result, but the wrong scoreline.

Chelsea vs West Bromwich Albion

Friday Night Football continued as it emanated from the home of the new Premier League Champions. Chelsea made sure of that status after a hard fought victory against West Brom saw them crowned Champions. I had predicted a 1-0 win for Chelsea and that’s exactly what happened as The Baggies made Chelsea really earn the win and the title. Chelsea winning 1-0, made sure that I got the correct result and scoreline.

Manchester City vs Leicester City

Pep Guardiola’s side looked to finish the season in style and this began with the visit of the now former Champions Leicester City. I once again predicted a 1-0 win for Manchester City, however they ended up winning 2-1. This means that I got the correct result but the wrong scoreline.

AFC Bournemouth vs Burnley

Burnley’s horrific away record resumed as they once again lost on the road just as I had predicted. I predicted a 2-1 win for Bournemouth and that’s exactly how it went down. This meant that I got the correct result and scoreline once again.

Middlesborough vs Southampton

With Boro already relegated, I predicted a dominant 3-0 win for Southampton to pile on more misery. Southampton did win, however the final score was 2-1. So my personal good form continued, with the correct result but sadly the wrong scoreline.

Sunderland vs Swansea City

With Sunderland already relegated, Swansea still had everything to play for knowing that a win here would guarantee safety. I predicted Swansea to win 1-0 and they did better than I expected, picking up a 2-0 victory. So I got the right result but the wrong scoreline.

Stoke City vs Arsenal

Well I was miles off the base here, I predicted a 1-1 draw. I certainly didn’t see this rout coming from Arsenal they totally blew everyone away with a brilliant attacking display that lead to a 4-1 victory. So I was totally wrong here with the wrong scoreline and result.

Crystal Palace vs Hull City

So Palace welcomed Hull to Selhurst Park in this heated 6 pointer in the relegation fight, failure to win would seal Hull’s fate. So this is why, I predicted a 2-0 win for Crystal Palace. The Eagles came away with a dominant 4-0 win meaning I got the right result but the wrong scoreline.

West Ham vs Liverpool

Liverpool just like Arsenal, totally blew me away. I predicted a 2-0 win for Liverpool but they ended up winning 4-0. A dominant and clinical performance from Jurgen Klopp’s side meant that even though I got the right result I had gotten the wrong scoreline.

Tottenham Hotspur vs Manchester United

I had predicted a narrow win for Manchester United in this one. I went with a 1-0 win. However, a lacklustre display from United and quite frankly a great team performance from Spurs led to a 2-1 win for Tottenham. This meant that I got the result & scoreline both wrong.

Chelsea vs Watford 

Premier League Champions Chelsea welcomed Watford to Stamford Bridge and I predicted a 2-0 win for Conte’s Champions. This was a brilliant back and forth game that ended in a 4-3 win for Chelsea. This result takes them to 29 league wins for the season and they could become the first team to win 30 league games in a single season with victory on the final day. The 4-3 victory for Chelsea also means that I got the correct result but the wrong scoreline.

Arsenal vs Sunderland

Another easy prediction for myself, I couldn’t see Sunderland doing anything here and that’s why I went with a 3-0 Arsenal win. The game ended 2-0 to Arsenal but honestly, without Jordan Pickford this game may well have been 4-0 maybe 5-0. I’d be really surprised if that young lad wasn’t at a Premier League club next season. This result meant that I got the right result again but also again, the wrong scoreline.

Manchester City vs West Bromwich Albion

I fancied this one to be a tough game for City, but I still fancied them to win as I predicted a 2-0 win for Manchester City. The final score a 3-1 victory for City so it meant that I got the correct result but wrong scoreline.

Southampton vs Manchester United 

I had again predicted a 2-0 United win here but it was a lacklustre, boring display that ended with a 0-0 draw. United almost lost but Sergio Romero saved their blushes when he guessed right to keep out a penalty. The bore draw means that I got the wrong result and the wrong scoreline too.

Leicester City vs Tottenham Hotspur

I certainly didn’t see this coming, I predicted a 0-0 bore draw. However, a rampant Tottenham quickly put an end to that thought with a resounding 6-1 victory that saw star man Harry Kane score 4 goals. An amazing performance by Spurs, but it did mean that I got the wrong result and scoreline to end the week of football.

Wow! What a week! We finally saw Chelsea crowned Champions which was inevitable but also all 3 relegation spots have been confirmed with Sunderland, Middlesborough & Hull all going down. Spurs have confirmed 2nd place so really only thing left to play for in the League is 3rd and 4th, the remaining Champions League spots. It’s been a great week of football and it all sadly comes to an end next weekend when the curtain comes down on Matchday 38 of the Premier League.

On the predictions front, I didn’t do too bad in all honesty. Out of 15 games, I came away with 11 correct results which isn’t too bad at all but sadly only 2 correct scorelines.

Leave a Reply

