30 Premier League Wins

So, the curtain has come down on a magnificent season in the Premier League and now I’m going to take a look back and see how my predictions lined up against the actual results.

Arsenal vs Everton

So I expected a slightly more tame affair than we ended up with, I couldn’t pick a winner and didn’t really see how I could separate them on paper and that’s why I predicted a 2-2 draw. However, by the end of the 90 minutes Arsenal ran away with this one taking a 4-1 victory on the day and even doing so with 10 men after Laurent Koscielny was sent off early in the game. Arsenal’s emphatic victory means that I got both the result and the scoreline wrong.

Burnley vs West Ham

Burnley’s good home record was a key factor in my decision to go with a 1-0 win to Burnley. However, a comeback from The Hammers saw the game end 2-1 in their favour. So after a spirited fightback from Slavan Bilic’s men, I once again got the result and scoreline wrong.

Chelsea vs Sunderland 

I knew this was going to be a big win for the Champions, that’s why I had predicted a 3-0 win to Chelsea. John Terry’s farewell was almost ruined when Sunderland took the lead in the 3rd minute through Javi Manquillo. Chelsea soon rose to the occasion on this momentous day as they fought back to claim a massive 5-1 win and in turn became the first Premier League side to claim 30 victories in a single season. This huge result meant that I got the correct result but the wrong scoreline.

Hull City vs Tottenham Hotspur

I fully expected Tottenham to come away from this game with a dominant win, that’s exactly why I predicted a 4-0 win. I had no idea that this was how dominant Spurs could really be, they really put down a marker and showed the rest of the Premier League just how good they really are. They’re going to be a serious threat in years to come and maybe even Premier League Winners. Golden Boot winner Harry Kane stole the headlines in this massive victory by scoring a hat trick. An absolutely mind-blowing performance here from Spurs means that I did get the correct result but the wrong scoreline.

Leicester City vs AFC Bournemouth

Leicester’s mid-to-late season revival saw them pull out some big results. So, this is the reason I decided to side with Leicester in a 3-2 victory. As we found out today though, that wasn’t the case as an early goal from Bournemouth and then a second half equaliser by The Foxes saw the game play out to a 1-1 draw. It’s safe to say, I was expecting fireworks in this one but it fizzled out in a rather dull draw. This means that once again, I got the wrong result & scoreline.

Liverpool vs Middlesborough

I always expected Liverpool to dominate this game, but stupidly for some reason I also thought that the lowest scoring team in England’s top four divisions would put up some sort of fight. This is why I had predicted a 3-1 win for Liverpool. I couldn’t have been more wrong, Mignolet barely had to do anything all game and Jurgen Klopp’s men ran away with a 3-0 win. I did a little bit better with this one, at least I got the right result even if I got the scoreline wrong.

Manchester United vs Crystal Palace 

Jose Mourinho guaranteed us in the lead up to this fixture he would play a weakened squad and he did just fielding six youngsters in the starting eleven and four more on the bench. This is exactly why I thought we’d see another draw at Old Trafford this season so I predicted a 1-1 draw. However, a debut goal from young forward Josh Harrop and a goal from the returning Paul Pogba made sure United claimed a 2-0 victory. So again, the wrong result and scoreline. It’s not a good day for my predictions really is it?

Southampton vs Stoke City

I thought here that these sides were kind of even in stature and quality, so I was fully prepared for a draw hence why I went with a 1-1 draw as my prediction. I honestly thought that The Saints would offer a lot more than they actually did. Legendary striker Peter Crouch helped Stoke claim a 1-0 win to close out the season. Another game that I got totally wrong, the wrong result and scoreline.

Swansea City vs West Bromwich Albion

I fancied this one to be a struggle and a tight game for Swansea, but I still predicted them to come away with a 1-0 win. Swansea dug deep in this one and fought back late on to come back from 1-0 down. The late comeback culminated in a 2-1 win for the home side. A slight improvement for myself, I got the right result but the wrong scoreline.

Watford vs Manchester City

This one was another shock to my system to be honest, I honestly expected better from Watford, that’s why I only predicted a 2-0 win for Manchester City. However, City ran absolutely riot this afternoon and it made for a great day out for their travelling fans. A captain’s goal from Kompany, a brace from Aguero and a goal each from Fernandinho and wonder kid Gabriel Jesus sealed a 5-0 win in a real five star performance. This superb performance meant I got the correct result but the wrong scoreline.

The Premier League is over, and what a final day it was, 37 goals scored in 10 games a fitting end to what was a magnificent season. My predictions were awful this weekend, I got 5 correct results out of a potential 10 and 0 of 10 correct scores. Thank god it’s the end of the season hopefully I can do better next year.

john-terry
John Terry in a Chelsea shirt for the final time.

On a separate note, today was the day that John Terry brought to an end an extraordinary 22 years as a Chelsea player. The captain, leader and legend as he is often referred to by the fans and many pundits played his final game for the club and was brought off in the 26th minute and given a guard of honour by his teammates. Although somewhat bizarre it was a touching tribute to a great player. It is not yet known what Terry will do, whether he will move on to another club or if he will retire altogether. Regardless of Terry’s decision I myself just wanted to say thank you for everything he brought to the Premier League and to football. I wish John all the best in whatever he goes onto in the future but I really do hope he sticks around preferably in the Premier League just so I can watch lunge in front of a ball head first one more time.

Leave a Reply

