3 More Points

A look back at Matchday 36 in the Premier League last weekend as I see how my predictions lined up against the actual results.

West Ham vs Tottenham Hotspur

I didn’t get off to the best start with this round of matches, I had predicted Spurs to win 2-0 and keep pace with Chelsea at the top of the Premier League. West Ham won 1-0, thanks to a brilliant goal from Manuel Lanzini. This result all but hands the title over to Chelsea. This results means that I got the wrong scoreline and the wrong result.

Manchester City vs Crystal Palace

A slight improvement in the second game of the weekend, I predicted City to win 3-1. City did win the game, however it was total domination as they gave Palace a 5-0 hammering. I expected City to win but had no idea that they’d be so dominant here. City getting the win means that I got the correct result but the wrong scoreline.

AFC Bournemouth vs Stoke City

My predictions got a little better as the weekend went by, I thought that his one was going to be a tight, cagey affair so I predicted a 0-0 draw. I’m glad to say I got the correct result with the draw, however I did get the wrong scoreline with this game ending 2-2.

Burnley vs West Bromwich Albion

Based on Burnley’s great home record so far this season I had predicted a 1-0 win for the home side. So safe to stay, I did not see this coming. Not only did Burnley draw 2-2 with West Brom, but they had to come from behind late on to rescue a point. Looking back at the game I’d have to say it was a good result for Burnley who had to fight to get back in it after taking the lead and then falling behind. The draw meant that I got both the wrong result and scoreline.

Hull City vs Sunderland

Following their relegation last weekend, Sunderland no longer had any pressure on them whatsoever. I predicted that without the pressure, we’d see a much better Sunderland side and that we did. I predicted a 2-0 win and that’s exactly what happened. A 2-0 win for Sunderland is exactly what happened, meaning that I got the correct scoreline and correct result.

Leicester City vs Watford

I predicted an easy 3-0 win for Leicester here as their attacking prowess in my eyes was just too much for Watford to handle. That was exactly the case, as The Foxes easily dispatched Walter Mazzari’s side. This massive win for Leicester means I once again got the right scoreline as well as the right result.

Swansea City vs Everton

Following a big result for Swansea last weekend in their quest for survival, Paul Clement’s side welcomed a wounded Everton side. Following the manner of Everton’s defeat to Chelsea, I predicted Swansea to steal a 1-0 win. As a result, of a Fernando Llorente goal that’s exactly how it went down on the night. Again, another correct result and scoreline.

Liverpool vs Southampton

I predicted a 2-1 win for Southampton in this one, based purely on the fact that with a number of former Saints in their ranks. I thought Southampton would have a tactical advantage. However, this game ended in a 0-0 draw. This result meant that I got the wrong scoreline and wrong result.

Arsenal vs Manchester United

A massive game for both clubs, I had predicted Manchester United to win 2-1. However, a terrible performance on the day ensured a 2-0 win for Arsenal. This result again means that I got the wrong result and wrong scoreline.

Chelsea vs Middlesborough

Chelsea are slowly closing in on the Premier League crown and a win here would’ve gone a long way to ensure that. Also, a loss would’ve confirmed relegation for Middlesborough. This is why I had predicted Chelsea to win 4-1. Chelsea ended up 3-0 winners meaning that I got the result right, but the scoreline wrong.

Arsenal vs Southampton

Due to both teams playing twice this weekend, I had predicted a 1-1 draw in this game. I thought that maybe both sides will cancel each other out. However this proved far from the case as Arsene Wenger’s men once again claimed a 2-0 win. Due to Arsenal’s win, I got another one totally wrong, I got the wrong result and scoreline.

A great week for the Premier League, with Tottenham finally slipping up Chelsea are just one win from the title and could claim the title in their next game against West Brom. Middlesborough’s relegation was confirmed this week, that leaves on place left in the relegation zone and so close to the end of the season things will get interesting. Also, there are still 2 Champions League spots up for grabs as well as the Europa League positions with several teams still fighting.

Leave a Reply

