Can You Believe It?

I’m going to take a little book at the Premier League fixtures this weekend and see how my predictions matched up with the actual scores:

Southampton vs Hull City

So this one was a massive disappointment, I had predicted Southampton to win 3-1 but that’s not exactly what happened. Both sides battled out a rather boring 0-0 draw, with the only major talking point being that stunning late save. Goalkeeper Elden Jakupovic guessed correctly to deny Southampton a late win from the penalty spot. I got the result and scoreline wrong. Southampton remain 9th and Hull stay in 17th position in the Premier League.

Stoke City vs West Ham

I wasn’t too far off with this result, another 0-0 draw in the Premier League this weekend. I had a feeling both sides would cancel each other out being very similar in ability and quite similar in their styles of play. I had predicted a 2-2 draw here so I got the result right, but the wrong scoreline. Stoke drop to 12th as West Ham also drop down the League table as they’re now in 15th.

Sunderland vs AFC Bournemouth

As the games went on, my predictions began to get a little bit better. I predicted a 2-0 win for Bournemouth to relegate Sunderland. Bournemouth ended up winning the game 1-0 thanks to a late winner from in form striker Josh King. I’m glad to say I got the correct result, however I got the wrong scoreline. This is a big win for The Cherries, not only does it finally confirm Sunderland’s relegation. It also puts them 9 points clear of the relegation zone so unless something goes seriously wrong, Eddie Howe’s men are safe for the season and will compete in the Premier League next season. Bournemouth move up to 10th in the League, whilst Sunderland’s relegation was confirmed with them sitting in 20th and 13 points adrift of safety, ending a run of 10 years in the Premier League.

West Bromwich Albion vs Leicester City

So I carried on my good form in this one, I had predicted The Foxes to win 2-1. They did get the win in this game but it was only a 1-0 victory. I got the correct result, but the wrong scoreline. This victory sees Leicester move to 12th and West Brom remain in 8th.

Crystal Palace vs Burnley

Well I was quite surprised with this result, Burnley finally got their first away win of the Premier League season. I had predicted Palace to win 2-0. The game in fact went the other way, Burnley won 2-0. Meaning, I got the correct scoreline but the wrong result. This result sees Palace remain 16th as Burnley move to 15th.

Manchester United vs Swansea

I got this one wrong completely, but I’m not at all surprised that United got another home draw. I had gone with a 2-0 win for United as my prediction, so I got both the wrong result and wrong scoreline. Again, with United unable to close the gap on top 4, it will probably be more realistic if they turn their focus to winning the Europa League and gaining qualification to the Champions League that way. This draw sees United remain in 5th position and Swansea remain in the relegation zone in 18th position.

Everton vs Chelsea

Another I got totally wrong, I went for the upset in this one. I predicted Everton to win 2-1. Chelsea continued to steam roll their opposition as they have all season long, wracking up a 3-0 win. I again got the result and scoreline wrong with this one. Chelsea’s big win sees them remain atop the Premier League in 1st position, whereas this loss sees Everton remain 7th.

Middlesborough vs Manchester City

Once again, a very surprising result. I had predicted total domination for Manchester City with a 4-0 win. However, a surprise sense of fight and some real grit saw Boro take the lead on two occasions before City pegged them back. The game ended up being a thrilling 2-2 draw. So once again, I got the wrong result and scoreline. Manchester City remain 4th and Middlesborough are still in the relegation zone as they sit 19th.

Tottenham Hotspur vs Arsenal

I’m quite to happy to say that my own personal bad run of form came to an end here as Tottenham’s winning form continued. I had predicted a 3-1 Spurs win, but a quickfire double in the second half ensured a 2-0 win for Pochettino’s men. I’m happy to say that I at least got something right in this fixture. I got the correct result but the wrong scoreline. Tottenham’s win sees them keep pace with leaders Chelsea, as the gap at top is still just 4 points with Spurs remaining in 2nd place. Arsenal remain in 6th.

Watford vs Liverpool

We finish the week’s football with a game that I called perfectly, I predicted a 1-0 win for Liverpool. That is exactly what happened, a rather boring game sparked into life when Emre Can scored an absolute worldie of an overhead kick to settle the game and take the points. Can’s wondergoal meant that I got the correct result and correct scoreline. Liverpool stay in 3rd and Watford drop to 14th in the Premier League.

A rather odd weekend in the Premier League this week, it started off boring with just 4 goals in 5 games on the Saturday. However, the Premier League as it always does sparked into life. We got a hell of a show on Sunday with some great football and brilliant goals all around and then of course we got the grand stand finish on Monday Night Football, Emre Can potential goal of the season winner. All in all, a great weekend of football with almost everything still to play for.

Leave a Reply

