Benteke Bites Back

A busy week in the Premier League with 11 games in total.

AFC Bournemouth vs Middlesborough

So we began the week’s action with Bournemouth vs Middlesbrough. I had predicted a win for Eddie Howe’s side with a 2-1 scoreline. I’m pleased to say I got the winning team correct, however after a complete demolition job I got the scoreline wrong as Bournemouth beat Boro 4-0. Bournemouth move up to 13th in the Premier League.

Hull vs Watford

I predicted a 1-1 draw for these two sides as I really couldn’t pick between them. The game ended in a 2-0 victory for Hull. Unfortunately, I got both the scoreline and result wrong in this one. A good win for Hull though as it helps them continue their slow march away from the relegation zone as they claimed all 3 points. Hull remain 17th but move to 34 points. Watford remain in 10th.

Swansea City vs Stoke City

So a slight improvement for myself on this one, I predicted a 2-0 victory for Stoke. But The Swans won 2-0. I got the winning team wrong, but I did get the correct scoreline. I expected so much more from Stoke given the players they have at their disposal, however this will be a massive win for Swansea. Swansea remain 18th, on 31 points just 2 points separates them from Hull who are just above them outside the relegation zone. Stoke remain 11th in the Premier League.

West Ham vs Everton

Well wasn’t this one a let down. Everton’s hot winning form has come to an end. I predicted Ronald Koeman’s Everton to win 3-0. In reality, and sadly for all us football fans (well the neutrals mostly) this game ended as a 0-0 bore draw. Meaning that I got the result and scoreline wrongWest Ham drop to 14th whilst Everton remain 7th.

Burnley vs Manchester United

As I had predicted, Manchester United won the game however I went with a 1-0 win when in actual fact they won 2-0 on the day. So I got the correct winning team but the wrong scoreline. As predicted Burnley weren’t going to be easy to beat at home and they proved a stern test for Mourinho’s men as both goals came about from the classic Manchester United counter attacks. Sean Dyche’s Burnley drop down to 16th in the Premier League.

Liverpool vs Crystal Palace

So I had predicted a Crystal Palace 2-1 win over Liverpool on Super Sunday and a 2-1 win for Palace it was. Christian Bentake came back to haunt his former employers as it was his brace that helped them come from behind to beat Jurgen Klopp’s men after a stunning Coutinho free kick gave them the lead. Liverpool remain 3rd on 66 points.

Chelsea vs Southampton

Chelsea did a thoroughly professional job at home over Southampton after they came out with a 4-2 win. I had predicted Chelsea to win 2-0, so I can happily say that I got the correct winning team but the wrong scoreline. Chelsea remain 1st on 78 points and Southampton stay 9th in the Premier League.

Arsenal vs Leicester City

Another correct winning team as Arsenal won at home against Leicester, however as they beat them 1-0 when I predicted a 2-0 win. This means that I got the correct winning team but I didn’t get the right scorelineArsenal remain 6th as Leicester drop to 15th. Leicester were seemingly unstoppable earlier in Craig Shakespeare’s tenure but lately they seemed to have unravelled a little as they drop closer to the relegation zone.

Middlesborough vs Sunderland

A north-east derby and a proper 6 pointer with both sides fighting for survival. Boro came away with a 1-0 victory to put Sunderland on the brink of relegation. I got both the winning team and scoreline wrong with this one as I had predicted Sunderland to win 2-0. Sunderland remain 20th in the Premier League and despite playing twice this week, with only one win Middlesborough are still in 19th.

Crystal Palace vs Tottenham Hotspur

A busy, tough week for Palace ended at home to Tottenham. I had predicted Spurs to win 2-0. It took a late piece of brilliance from Christian Ericksen to give Tottenham a 1-0 win. So I got the winning team right but the scoreline wrong. Tottenham remain 2nd in the Premier League and the gap between themselves and Chelsea stands at 4 points. A win and loss in 2 games this week sees Palace move upto 12th.

Manchester City vs Manchester United

The Manchester Derby brought to a close a rather packed week of Premier League action. I was wrong again with the result and the scoreline, I went with a 2-0 win for Manchester United. However, the game ended in a 0-0 draw. Fellaini saw red in a game that City dominated as United parked the bus to get exactly what they wanted out of the game. United can add youngster Fosu-mensah to their injury list as he appeared to go down hurt right at the end though the extent of the injury is not yet known. Marouane Fellaini will also be another absentee for United as his red card warrants a 3 match ban at least, not what Mourinho needed at this stage of the season with his resources already stretched. As a result, of the draw both teams remain 4th & 5th in the Premier League, respectively.

A bit of an average week with my predictions, out of 11 games I came out with 6 correct winning teams but only 2 correct scorelines. So it wasn’t exactly terrible but it wasn’t all that great either.

Well another exciting week in the Premier League is now over and there was some big talking points, we all but saw Sunderland’s relegation confirmation is hard to see them to come back from this one now. The title race is still on with just 4 points separating Tottenham & Chelsea it will surely be an exciting end to the season. Relegation isn’t officially confirmed yet but it looks like Middlesborough & Sunderland are strong favourites for 2 of the 3 teams to go down. Also it’s worth noting that none of the European spots are officially confirmed apart from Chelsea who have confirmed their place in next season’s UEFA Champions League. Spurs are strong favourites to join Chelsea among Europe’s elite, but that still leave 2 spots unaccounted for. There is a lot left to play for it seems and I for one really can’t wait to see how things pan out in the coming weeks of the Premier League.

Leave a Reply

