Son is Shining

I take a look back at this weekend’s action and see how I did with my own personal predictions for Matchday 32

DesignStudio_Premier_League_Rebrand_2016_02-2000x1125

Tottenham vs Watford

So I really expected Watford to put up more of a fight, I thought of Spurs would win 2-1, they actually won 4-0. Tottenham absolutely blew The Hornets away in this one, an inspired performance from Heung-min Son, helped Tottenham keep up their impressive form in their pursuit of Chelsea. Tottenham really do look unstoppable right now and even though there is a 7 point lead, Chelsea better be looking over their shoulders should they slip up Pochettino’s men will be right there to capitalise.

Manchester City vs Hull City

I thought that Pep Guardiola’s side would easily win this one. However, after the mid week performance I thought Hull would’ve had more to offer. I predicted a 2-0 win for City but in actual fact the final score was 3-1, so I got winners and winning margin right. Hull did score however I didn’t see the defence collapsing as they did I assumed they’d be a tough team to break down but City’s attacking riches found a way through and continued with their push to qualify for next season’s Champions League.

Middlesborough vs Burnley

Burnley’s terrible away form continued here as they again failed to win. I predicted a 1-0 win for Sean Dyche’s men but the game ended 0-0. Boro slip closer to relegation, even though they aren’t going down without a fight they made a good start to the game but failed to find a way through. Middlesborough are now 19th and 6 points from safety.

Stoke vs Liverpool

Liverpool surprised me in this one after a couple of inspired substitutes from Jurgen Klopp saw the Reds come from behind to claim a 2-1 victory. Whereas, I predicted a 1-1 draw. I thought it would’ve been a draw based purely on the fact that Liverpool’s record against the lesser sides hasn’t been all that great, they show up on the big days and seem to go missing at the times with the smaller teams. But a bit of Brazilian magic from Coutinho and Firmino. Liverpool remain 3rd and Stoke drop to 13th.

West Brom vs Southampton

After recent results, I honestly thought The Baggies could’ve done a lot better here hence the reason I predicted a 2-0 win. They put in some good performances lately but this game wasn’t on the same level. It took a beauty from Jordy Clasie to separate the two as Southampton came away 1-0 winners. Both sides remain 8th and 9th respectively.

West Ham vs Swansea

I had predicted a 3-1 win for West Ham here as I fully expected the Hammers firepower to shine through. The actual result was a 1-0 win for Slavan Bilic’s men so I got the right winner just not the scoreline. It was a brilliant strike from Cheikhou Kouyate that sealed the win and the points. West Ham move upto 14th and Swansea remain 18th.

Chelsea vs Bournemouth

Conte’s men continued their sensational form here with a 3-1 win over The Cherries. So with my 3-0 prediction I was right with the winner and the number of goals that Chelsea scored. Chelsea never looked in any real danger and they cruised to victory. With the 7 point lead still intact at the top of the League and Chelsea’s rich run of form its difficult to see them bottling this and not becoming Champions.

Sunderland vs Manchester United

I had predicted a 2-0 win for Mourinho’s Red Devils and in actual fact, they walked away 3-0 winners. It seems I got the winners right again just not the scoreline. This was a thoroughly entertaining game, Sunderland did press United hard but failed to make anything count as they cruised to victory. This win sees United move upto 5th in the League as David Moyes’ side remain 20th.

Everton vs Leicester

Well all good things must come to an end I suppose. Craig Shakespeare’s men finally lost their perfect record. Not only that, a thrilling contest which ended with a 4-2 win to Everton saw my prediction come true. A superb win for Ronald Koeman’s men saw Everton remain in 7th and The Foxes remain 11th.

Crystal Palace vs Arsenal

Another shocking win for Palace, not only a win but an absolute thrashing as they won 3-0. I really didn’t expect this result as I went totally the other way, I predicted a 2-0 win for Arsenal. Arsenal fans will be distraught to say the least after this latest setback which will surely do nothing to stop the #WengerOut movement. Arsenal drop to 6th and Crystal Palace continue their great escape by putting 6 points between themselves and the relegation zone, Palace sit in 16th.

A great weekend of football as the season is coming to a close, the battle for survival is hotting up and also the race for European football. However, it seems a foregone conclusion that Chelsea will be crowned Champions in May.

Leave a Reply

