Zlats Another Draw

A look back at this week’s midweek games in the Premier League:

DesignStudio_Premier_League_Rebrand_2016_02-2000x1125

Burnley vs Stoke City

I’m quite proud to say that I started off this Matchday, with a correct prediction. I said Burnley 1-0 which is exactly what happened, thanks to a goal from George Boyd in the second half. The first half was rather boring and bit cat and mouse to me, they just both wanted to park the bus but Burnley found the breakthrough and continued their great home record. This win moves Burnley up to 14th and sees Stoke drop down to 12th.

Leicester City vs Sunderland

My good form continued as again I got another perfect prediction. This time it was The Foxes continuing their perfect record under Craig Shakespeare to see themselves pick up a 2-0 win. Goals from Slimani and Vardy helped push Leicester even further up the table as they now sit in 11th place and are closing on the top half. A feat that seemed unthinkable a short while ago. Meanwhile things went from bad to worse for David Moyes as his Sunderland team edging ever closer to their seemingly inevitable fate of relegation as they remain 20th, 10 points from safety.

Watford vs West Brom

Okay, I may have slipped up this one. I chose to go with West Brom winning 3-1 based on their recent results and performances. However, it seemed as if that really didn’t matter when M’baye Niang decided to steal the show. He set up one goal and scored an absolute beauty from range to draw first blood in this contest as 10 man Watford saw off Tony Pulis’ West Brom. The 3 points takes Watford upto 10th and sees them enter the top half. The Baggies remain 8th.

Manchester United vs Everton

I predicted another home draw for United, and I got the result right but the scoreline wrong. I went with a 2-2 draw, however the game ended 1-1 and that was largely in part thanks to the returning Swede Zlatan Ibrahimovic. Zlatan converted the penalty won by Luke Shaw in the 94th minute to give side a point. United drop back down to 6th and have some serious ground to make up if they are to finish in the top 4. Everton stay 7th now only 3 points behind United.

Arsenal vs West Ham

I got this one completely wrong, I went with 2-1 to Slavan Bilic’s team. However, the game finished 3-0 to The Gunners. Goals from Ozil, Walcott and Giroud helped move Wenger’s side upto 5th. Before Arsenal managed to put 3 past Randolph, West Ham did have their own opportunities. They came close through Mark Noble and Manuel Lanzini. How different it could’ve been. West Ham have dropped to 15th as a result of this heavy defeat.

Hull vs Middlesborough

Well wasn’t this exciting, finishing 4-2 to Hull. I got the winning team right but I never expected this, the Boro defence is normally quite tough and its only the 2nd time this season they’ve conceded more than 3 goals. Hull will be bouncing with this win, Marco Silva is working wonders with that squad and he deserves a tonne of credit. With some hard work and persistence they’ve finally pulled themselves out of the relegation zone. Hull are now 17th, 2 points clear of the bottom three. Middlesborough are 18th and now 7 points from safety.

Southampton vs Crystal Palace

Well it seemed I had this one right to with Palace taking a 1-0 lead but evidently Southampton had other plans. As a stunning late double from The Saints helped come from behind to beat Sam Allerdyce’s Palace. Benteke scored for the 5th time in his last 5 games. However, an equaliser from Redmond and a late rapid fire double from Yoshida and Ward-Prowse saw the game finish 3-1 to Southampton in comparison to my 2-0 win prediction for Palace. Palace stay in 15th following this defeat and Southampton move into 9th.

Swansea vs Tottenham

Well I got winners right on this one and I was also right with the number of goals Tottenham would score. The game finished 3-0 as opposed to my prediction of 3-1. I expected this to be an easy one for Spurs but it was far from it! Swansea struck first early in the match through Wayne Routledge. With a 1-0 lead intact and seemingly all 3 points in the bag, Tottenham turned up in a notch right at the death with 3 goals coming in the 88th, 91st and 94th minutes respectively. Spurs remain in 2nd following his stunning comeback and Swansea drop into the relegation zone as they now sit 18th.

Chelsea vs Manchester City

So I got the correct scoreline here however I picked the wrong winners. I picked City to win 2-1 but it was actually Chelsea who took the 3 points. Thanks to some rather forgetful goalkeeping from Argentine Willy Caballero, Eden Hazard bagged a brace with both goals coming either side of Sergio Aguero’s equaliser to keep the League leaders 7 points clear. Chelsea remain 1st and City remain in 4th.

Liverpool vs Bournemouth

I got everything wrong here. I expected Liverpool to blow Bournemouth away and they proved me wrong I’m glad to say they put up one hell of a fight. They even took the lead early in the game before netting a late equaliser to tie the game up 2-2. This front two of Afobe and King seems to be working well for Eddie Howe and it looks like a way forward for his side. Liverpool stay 3rd whilst Bouremouth drop to 13th.

So it was a slightly new format this time around, and I think I’m going to stick with this. We all watch the games on Sky and BT and we all see Match Of The Day so you don’t need me to give commentary and I’d rather just give you guys a quick recap and my thoughts. I appreciate that some of you may prefer the old style and I’m curious to hear from you as to what style you think I should work with.

 

 

Leave a Reply

